Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

Phong Dien Floating Market, Vietnam

Traditional Mekong Delta Food Trade
2

Here is some extra content for this month!

While I was in Southeast Asia, I spent some time chasing floating markets. Of the markets I visited, Phong Dien was my favorite. It is small and intimate, which is a big departure from the others, especially the nearby Cai Rang (a story for another day, maybe).

I just wanted to share this short video I made of the market to give you a bit of a taste, if you will, of what traditional food trade in the Mekong Delta looks like. Of course, things are changing, and fast. Highways are replacing rivers, tourism is affecting traditional trade, and so on. But for now, we still have Phong Dien. And, unlike other floating markets in Vietnam and Thailand, it seems to have been largely unaffected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

If you want to read a bit more about the market and see some of the photos I took, I wrote a blog post on how to get there since it is not usually on pre-made tourist tours, and thank goodness for that!

2 Comments
Historical Foodways
Authors
Juneisy Hawkins